Skip to navigation Skip to content

Plants and Microbiomes Working Group

Aim: The WG will help creating a science community on plants and microbiomes, foster collaborations and develop advice to policy makers.

1st Activity: Workshop to define a strategy for plant microbiome research in Europe and beyond having a vision on the understanding and application of plant microbiomes in a multidisciplinary manner (linkage to plant research, soil / ecosystem, functioning, agronomy, human/animal health, conservation of biological / genetic resources) and well integrated in the EPSO network. We will define the needs regarding joint efforts in plant microbiome research and reflect on the needs to achieve major understanding and enable innovations in crop production and ecosystem conservation. The outcome of this meeting will provide the basis for further activities planned within this WG and will be provided as science advice to policy to the European Commission.

EPSO Publications prepared by this Working Group:

EPSO: Report and recommendations on Plants and Microbiomes from the workshop in Vienna 23.2.2017, published 23.3.2017 and highlighting the concept of Diverse crops with diverse microbiomes for diverse diets and resilient production.

Working Group leaders:
Angela Sessitsch, AIT, AT
Paul Schulze-Lefert and Stijn Spaepen, MPIZ, DE

Working Group Members:
Carmen Bianco, CNR, IT
Ton Bisseling, WUR, NL 
Sylvia Blümel, BoKu, AT
Paola Bonfante, Univ Torino, IT                                      
Marc Buée, INRA Nancy-Lorraine, FR
Soumitra Chowdhury, Helmholtz Munich, DE
Roberto Defez, CNR, IT
Aurélie Deveau, INRA Nancy-Lorraine, FR
Tim Evison, Univ Copenhagen, DK
Sofie Goormachtig, VIB, BE
Rita Grosch, IGZEV, DE
Mette Haubjerg Nicolaisen, Univ Copenhagen, DK
Juan Imperial, Univ. Polit. de Madrid, INIA / CSIC, ES
Cathie Martin, JIC Norwich, UK
Karin Metzlaff, EPSO
Liesje Mommer, WUR, NL
Greta Noelke, IME Aachen, DE
Kirsi-Marja Oksman-Caldentey, VTT, FI
Corné Pieterse, Utrecht Univ, NL
Anna Maria Pirttilä, Univ Oulu, FI
Christophe Plomion, INRA Nancy-Lorraine, FR
Simona Radutoiu, Aarhus, DK
Soledad Sacristan, UPM-INIA, Madrid, ES
Patrick Schafer, Warwick Univ, UK
Klaus Schläppi, Agroscope, CH 
Michael Schloter, Helmholtz Munich, DE
Peter Schroeder, Helmholtz Munich, DE
Paul Schulze-Lefert, MPIZ, DE
Angela Sessitsch, AIT, AT
Amir Sharon, Tel Aviv Univ, IL
Soren Sorensen, Univ Copenhagen, DK
Stijn Spaepen, MPIZ, DE
Chiara Tonelli, Univ Milano, IT
Corinne Vacher, INRA Nancy-Lorraine, FR
Marcel van der Heijden, Agroscope, CH
Jan Dirk van Elsas, Univ Groningen, NL
Leo van Overbeek, WUR, NL
Steve Wakelin, SCION, NZ
Michelle Watt, Julich Research Centre, DE

Working Group Observers (From academia):
Gabriele Berg, Graz Univ of Techol., AT
Yvan Moenne-Loccoz, Univ Lyon, FR
Riitta Nissinen, Univ Jyväskyla, FI
Barbara Reinhold-Hurek, Univ Bremen, DE
Sofie Thijs, Uni. Hasselt, BE
Jaco Vangronsveld, Univ. Hasselt, BE

Note: More interested EPSO members, pls contact us at to join the group

Printed from on 20/04/18 01:57:45 AM

EPSO is an independent academic organisation currently representing 61 institutional members bringing together more than 204 research institutes, departments and universities from 29 countries in Europe and beyond.